Source of LIFE

Standard

In most cases I consider myself an introvert. I enjoy being around other people (most of the time) once I’m there, but it takes a lot of energy and intentionality for me to be ‘on’ and leaves me pretty drained. I get energized by being home, in the quiet, often by myself. Time to think, time to reflect, and time to plan. There is, however, one notable exception. Kids are a HUGE source of life for me. Being around kids energizes me. Spending time with children teaches me about myself. More importantly I can’t help but see truths of God magnified in ways that touch my heart more powerfully than anything else when I watch kids be kids.

Most recently I’ve been caring for my nephews after several weeks of not spending any time with kids.  I love it!  I have never realized just how clearly kids are a life source for me!  Maybe I shouldn’t let myself be away from kids…hmm….

  • At the pool with the boys, God encouraged my heart with lessons on trust, faith and patience.
  • Gazing at the stars with them, God comforted me as we talked about how big God is and His creativity.
  • Resolving a pouting issue, God reminded me to be thankful for so many things
  • Cooking dinner, God showed me yet again how beautifully the fellowship of believers was created to be and function

Just a very short list of the many reasons I am so grateful to spend time with kids.  Not only for myself, but its also a great way to talk to kids about God- tell them what He is teaching me in the moment and how He is shining through them without them even knowing it!  Encouraging them to look for God in their lives.

As we were walking home from the park this morning, I was sharing with them how much I love spending time with them and how hanging out with them is my very favorite thing in the world.  I explained that kids are my very biggest passion and that God created everyone with a different passion.  We got to talking about their passions.  We defined passion as whatever we love doing the most, that makes us feel energized and happy.  Khai said that he was most passionate about football.  Devin said that his passion was singing.  It was a really fun conversation.

Wikipedia defines passion as the following.

Passion (from the Ancient Greek verb πάσχω (paskho) meaning to suffer) is a term applied to a very strong feeling about a person or thing. Passion is an intense emotion, compelling feeling, enthusiasm, or desire for something.

The term is also often applied to a lively or eager interest in or admiration for a proposal, cause, or activity or love – to a feeling of unusual excitement, enthusiasm or compelling emotion, a positive affinity or love, towards a subject, idea, person, or object.

What are you most passionate about?  What activity or idea or teaches you the most about yourself?  God?  The world?  Are you sharing that passion with those around you?  Are you operating inside your passion?

2 responses »

  1. Beautiful thoughts Emma… there is nothing so wonderful as walking IN your passions in life. I am sure the boys will ALWAYS remember what amazing times they had with their Aunt!!!

  2. THANKS Melissa! Its been so great to watch you walk more and more in your own passions! Such an exciting adventure to embrace the unique ways in which God made us! ❤

Leave a Reply

